Green Star Awards – Excellence in Preparedness, Prevention & Response

The Green Star Awards is a collaborative initiative between the United Nations Environment Programme (UN Environment), the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) and Green Cross International. The purpose of the Green Star Awards (GSA) event is to recognize outstanding individuals or organisations that have made remarkable efforts to prevent, prepare for, and respond to environmental emergencies – as well as to integrate environment with humanitarian action across the world.

The Green Star Awards highlight the work done to address the negative consequences of the environmental impacts of  disasters such as earthquakes, floods, technological accidents and complex emergencies.

The awards were conceived in June 2007 during the 7th Advisory Group on Environmental Emergencies (AGEE) meeting in Rosersberg, Sweden, where meeting participants recommended the establishment of a special recognition scheme. As a result, the UN Environment/OCHA Joint Unit and Green Cross International were requested to develop a suitable award.

The first awards ceremony took place on 6-8 May 2009 in Brussels, Belgium and the second on 18 May 2011 in Switzerland. The third edition was presented on 2 September 2013 in Geneva. The fourth awards ceremony took place on 1 June 2015 in Oslo, Norway. Finally, the fifth edition took place on 26 September 2017 in Nairobi, Kenya.

See the different ceremonies below:

The GSA rewards individuals or organizations who demonstrated outstanding leadership in 3 categories:

Prevention and Preparedness

Main criteria:


Main criteria:

Environment and Humanitarian Action

Main criteria:


Green Cross Award Winners (2011)

Green Cross Award Winners (2015)

Green Cross Award Winners (2017)

Green Cross Award Winners (2013)

Green Cross Award Winners (2009)

to top
icon-close-alt icon-bookmark icons / login